Shooters Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen, this is my first time on the forum as I am fairly new to this website, but have really enjoyed learning how to use it and all the info it contains.  I am not very computer literate and have just gotten into big bore sixguns in the last couple years and just got into CAS in the last six months.  My question is this - I have read much about using heavier bullets in 44 and 45 calibers.  However, in my new SBH( and in my old SRH) with 290 grain cast bullets or larger I would have a hard time keeping them on paper at 50 yards.  At 100 yards they will shoot a foot high.  With my new SBH my 240 gr. cast at @1100 fps will shoot a good 6-8 inches high at 25 yards.  I have the rear sight cranked all the way down.  I called Ruger and they said their guns are sighted in for factory ammo which I take to mean probably a 240 gr. bullet at 1400 fps.  I would think there would be enough adjustment in the sight to compensate for a medium velocity load.  All you guys talk about shooting heavier bullets.  How do you get your SBH's to shoot low enough? Thanks and sorry for the length!

·
Beartooth Regular
1,177 Posts
Zoonie,

Welcome to the board!

The short answer would be to install a taller front sight blade.

Ruger has about three different sight heights for the SBH/Blackhawk Revolvers. A few other firms offer them as well. A 1/16" Roll pin punch and careful tapping will push the pin out of the front sight base freeing the blade.

I believe the front sight blade for a 45 Colt Blackhawk with the 7 1/2" barrel is the tallest of them all due to the slower velocities of NORMAL loads in this cartridge.

I'd call Ruger and ask for availability on this blade and a price. Been a long time since I got one from them so I can't recall.

Regards, Ray

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,441 Posts