Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys.Well I just pick up a Super BlackHawk .44 with a 7.5" barrel.I want to put a scope on it,and I thought you guys might help me get a good one. I can spend around a couple hundred bucks.I've been looking at the Weaver scopes and there tap free mounts.I'm kinda new to the scope thing. I'm mosty going to use it for bench. Any help would be great.Thanks.

·
Registered
84 Posts
I shot Blackhawks, Redhawks and S&W .44 magnums for a lot of years. IMHO, I don't use scopes on a handgun. If you need to do that, get a rifle. I'm a purest who is into motorcycles as well as guns. I see guys loading their cycles with so much crap that I wondered why they just didn't drive a car!

I've fired .44 magnum at silhouettes at 200 yards with iron sights. That's a challenge and it's fun!

Just my 2 cents. Enjoy your .44 any way you want to. Let us know how it came out.

Flash

·
"Bad Joke Friday" Dan (moderator emeritus)
7,762 Posts
Interesting logic, using a handgun for 200 yard shooting, if you need to do that, get a rifle?

I have 2x8 EER Leupolds on two of my eight .44 mags and thoroughly enjoy experimenting with accurate, longer range shooting. The Performance Center S&W goes 2" at 100 yards and the SBH goes 2.5" at 100 yards with custom loads However, my full loads, sighted dead on at 100 yds. drop 15" at 150 yds. and 31" at 200 yds. so I stick to the first 100 yards for hunting. I've tried other EER handgun scopes and had problems with the sight picture going black if my eye wasn't in perfect alignment, and the Leupolds have been more forgiving.....but unless you can find a used one, suspect $200 wouldn't get the job done for a Leupold.

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks Dok. They are a little bet up there in the price. I guess you get what you pay for. Have you ever used the Weaver 2.5x8x28 Classic ??

·
Registered
2 Posts
B-Square mounts work nice...