Shooters Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to reloading, and was working up some hunting loads for my NMBH 45colt. 23 grains h110, with a 300 XTP/JHP. Anyway, my question is this: There is no real published data on this load, just what people have tried and tested, so I was a bit confused on the overall case length. I seated and crimped to the first of the 2 crimp groves on the bullet, and this left it at about 1.68". I loaded a dozen or so of these, and went to shoot them, they were to long to chamber in my gun. So, I went back and made some more, seated and crimped them to the second grove, and they came out to be 1.6". What is the proper depth? What kind of preassure differences is this going to make? Help is appreciated. Thanks. Oh yeah, trim length is 1.28".

·
Beartooth Regular
7,776 Posts
Hi, Swilk:
  Here's what Hornady #4 has to say about the 300 grain HP/XTP in Rugers & T/C guns.
Max. case length = 1.285"
Case trim length = 1.275
Cartridge overall length = 1.585
Winchester case
Winchester WLP primer
Max. load of Winchester 296 is 21.3 grains.
Velocity is 1300 fps in a 10" T/C barrel.

It looks like you have to use the second groove for the .45 Colt. Perhaps the first groove is for the .45-70?  W296 and H110 are supposed to be the same powder, but they're known for large lot-to-lot variations. I'd be a bit cautious about using 23 grains.

Bye
Jack

(Edited by Jack Monteith at 9:42 am on Nov. 9, 2001)

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3