Shooters Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am wanting to get into casting my own bullets for whitetail hunting next season and was wondering if a 240 grain semi-wadcutter bullet would be adequate or should I go with a 240 or 250 gr. round nose flat point mold.  I understand the flat point bullets would probably work better, but would the swc bullets do the job.  If anyone has had any experience with swc vs. fp on deer, I would appreciate hearing from you.

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you so much for your help, RugerNo3, but your reply has raised another question or two.  First, what are the differences between cowboy style bullets and LBT bullets?  I know you mentioned the larger meplat of the LBT which brings me to my next question.  Doesn't a SWC have a smaller meplat than either the cowboy bullet or the LBT bullet, and if so, why would the SWC be better for hunting than a cowboy style bullet?  I am new to reloading and like I said, I am wanting to get into casting my own bullets for hunting, so any info you can give me would be much appreciated.

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
All of your posts have been very helpful, but I am full of questions so here is another one.  I am on a limited budget and was looking at the Lee moulds, particularly the C429-240-SWC.  Have any of you had any experience with Lee moulds?  If so, good? bad? so-so?
Or would I be better off with the Lyman or RCBS moulds that you mentioned?

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I will be using the bullets in a S&W 629-4 with a 6.5" ported barrel.  I have read other posts about the durability of the 629 with 300+ gr. magnum loads; the 310gr. WFN Lee mold caught my eye, but after reading some of the posts about S&Ws not handling the heavy bullets, I am hesitant.  That is why I started looking for a good 240 or 250 gr. mold.

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·