Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Read an article from my favorite hunting magazine last night about how the author built a new caliber rifle for shootng 1,000 yd. compition and small animals way out with some larger stuff in the middle. Good article and well written. Basically an upgrade of the .243 Winchester. He got into some terms that the ordinary person would't understand and I thank him for that as he made the reader understand that this is a rifle that is custom made and must have custom ammunition to shoot well enough to hit the targets way out there. My question to you brothers is, with these articles are we unknowingly telling the general public that it is okay to take shots at game way out there? Where does the ethics of the sport come into play and are we expanding the box so to speak to say if you can hit it okay go for it. I was a hunter education instructor for 27 years and part of what I taught was Ethics. We tried to teach that at what range in the field positions you could keep all shots in a 9 inch paper plate, that was your maximum range to ethically hunt Deer. It seems like everyone wants to be a sniper these days. Snipers are well trained individuals with a skill set far above the typical shooter that works a day job and shoots on the weekend. I applaud them for what they do, but do not advocate the evryday hunter try his tactics and methods. Am I being too thin skined about this? What say ye brothers. Lou

·
Super Moderator
13,599 Posts
The paper plate or the pie plate has always been a good reference point. I've seen complete misses achieved with long guns at 25 yards, so there is no fixed distance one can put on these things. The shooter has to know what his skills and equipment can or can't do under the ambient conditions.