Shooters Forum banner

Does my theory about a build up in the barrel make sense?

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new to black powder and need some advice. Everything I know about black powder I have read on this and other forums and have watched on you tube.

Background:

My father is letting me use his T/C Renegade 54 cal to hunt. He bought the gun 25-30 years ago fired about 100-120 round ball and a couple T/C Maxi-balls through it, swabbed it out and put it the safe where it has been for 25 years. The first thing I did when getting the gun was to clean it. I took the nipple off and I noticed that there were black chunks that came out when swabbed the barrel in warm soapy water.

Details:

I am using Triple 7 FFG and tried both 80 grains and 90 grain loads with pre lubed patch round ball.

The problem:

I went to the range yesterday to try out the gun for the first time and to see if I could get a tight group for deer hunting. I fired about 11 ball and 1 TC Maxi-ball through it. On all but a couple shots the hammer was re-cocked and the percussion cap had blown off the nipple after firing. I was unable to get any consistency in my grouping. My shots were literally all over the place and I left the range very discouraged.

After returning home I cleaned the gun again and tried to put a new copper wire brush down the barrel. Once it made it all the to the bottom it got stuck and I had a really hard time getting it out. When it came out the front of the brush was bent over toward the back in a cone shape as if the barrel narrowed just before reaching the back.