Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What are members experiences with shoulder angles?

When does neck thickening and case lengthening become less significant? I've read various claims thirty degrees, forty degrees, forty five degrees etc, but I have no direct experience.

what shoulder angles(or what increase in shoulder angles start to give feeding problems in bolt actions?

At what point does shoulder collapse during forming or sizing start to become a problem?

Many thanks in anticipation of your replies.

·
Registered
3,511 Posts
OK, my Experience is with two "parent" Cartridges reforming into several "Children".

The first is .22 hornet.
i expand the Neck and Shoulder area to about .250" diameter, then Run the result into a .25ACP sizing die up to the Top of the Rim. the result is a Case of .276 Diameter and 1.38)" long; or about .020 shorter than the Parent case.

The second is 5.7x28mm FN.
I expand the Neck and Shoulder to about .250": then use three Steps to reduce the diameter form about .314" down to .276" which result sin the final case being between 1.215" to 1.260" in length compared to 1.137" of the Original.

The 5.7x28mm FN starts with a shoulder angle of 31 degrees and 24 minutes half angle.
The .22 hornet starts with a shoulder angle of 5 degrees and 38 minutes half angle.

Good Luck with your Quest.
Best Regards,
Chev. William

·
Banned
4,920 Posts
I kept it simple...