Shooters Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am 50 yr. old and wear biofocals and need some opinions. I just purchased a 444p and have oreered a 45-70 guide gun. I'm not sure what is tthe best reciever sight to buy or should I go withe a red dot. Also If I were to go with a traditional scope what would be the best for the money(very little left) to put on them. I hunt form a stand and shots very seldom get past 125 yds on our deer and hogs. By the way I'm gald I found this forum. I have been shooting and handloading for 30 yrs and I never realized the preformance you could get from cast bullets. I always thought that if it didn't expand it wouldn't kill good. Thanks Marshall

·
Registered
192 Posts
Tony,

Even with the modern lever action of today with cross bolt safties and recoil reducing ports, I like iron sights over scopes. Putting glass on a light easy handle lever gun just doesn't seem right. I have the Ashley Ghost Ring sights on my 1894 Marlin and while they aren't the traditional receiver sights they perform just great. Marshall has recently mounted a set on his Outfitter and posted his sight in targets in the General Discussion forum under the Fashion Photo of Marshall topic. The targets are quite impressive. These sights are much less expensive than a good quality scope and certainly won't get in the way.

·
Registered
1,931 Posts
I've been using a Lyman reciever sight for the past 20 or so years on my Siamese Mauser, 45-70. I did have the reciever drilled and tapped for a scope. I used a Lyman 1.75 to 4.5 or 5 power.
My rifle disassembled the scope three times and I sent it off to be repaired three times. I put the scope on a 243 and use the Lyman reciever
My 375 Whelen uses a scope most of the year but come hunting season the Lyman sight goes on and the scope comes off.
I'm putting a Marples tang sight on the Winchester 1886. Personally I'm sold on the reciever/tang sights for my 53 year old eyes.
Jim

·