Shooters Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been handloading for several years but a problem came up last weekend.

I load a 310g hardcast Beartooth bullet in .45 Colt for my Ruger Blackhawk.  While I load hotter than most factory rounds, I'm not stretching the limits.  I've been very happy with its performance on several whitetail and two feral hogs.

However, on my last shot the cylinder locked up.  I'm afraid I've got a serious problem.  Apparently, the primer was high and there is a live round still in the cylinder!  

I've carefully disassembled the handgun but still no success with removing the cylinder.  The last round is definitely still in the chamber.  Looking in from the side you can see the primer protruding near the hammer and the bullet seems to be in the case.

Any suggestions for me from here?

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,226 Posts
Smart thing to do is take it to a gunsmith, with the same explanation as above.

The cylinder is going to have to be forced open while the latch is held down, probably by gently tapping with a rubber or plastic mallet.  There is a possibility of bending the crane so this must be done with the utmost care.

One other possibility is to run a rod from the muzzle to the base of the fired case, and tap it a few times to re-seat the primer.  If the primer has extruded into the firing pin hole this probably won't help.

But.... considering that there is still a live round in the gun, this sounds like a good job for someone else!  I personally would not like to be hitting a gun with a live round still in it.

·
Super Moderator
3,375 Posts
MTD,

OOPS!  I think we've all had something as purplexing as this in our shooting experiences.   Don't dispair.  You said you've disassembled the gun.  Have you removed the cylinder base pin?  If so, with the loading gate open you still cannot get the cylinder to release from the frame, try this: