Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I am new to guns and recently got a pump action twelve gauge. I read that it's a good idea to clean it prior to shooting it for the first time. While cleaning it I accidentally spilled a generous amount of Hoppe's 9 onto the gun and it got all over the receiver, trigger area, and stock. I wiped it off as best as I could but it still smells really strong. Did I damage my new gun or gum up the action by doing this? Will the smell ever go away? Thanks a lot, John.

·
Registered
3,736 Posts
Welcome John Smith. No, you didn't hurt anything. Hoppe's #9 has a lot of smell but won't hurt anything. Just wipe as much up as you can. Even if you hadn't spilled any, it smells strong for quite a while from just using it. My wife hates it when I clean a gun with it without the windows open in the house. I actually find the smell quite pleasant in moderate quantities. As long as it's wiped off reasonably well it won't hurt anything. By todays standards, it's quite a mild cleaner.

·
Registered
11,959 Posts
Welcome to the shooters forum.

The only thing I'd be concerned about is the solvent damaging the grips. If they are removable take them off and dry underneath.

·
Registered
3,970 Posts
welcome John.

dunking in Hoppe's will not harm any steel or other metals. BUT if a wooden stock on the shotgun, I'd pull it of and wipe it down and let air dry before putting it back on.

·
Registered
498 Posts
I got a little sloppy at the range once with a new rifle that had a camo synthetic stock. Hoppes 9 got on the camo stock and it took a little of the finish off when I wiped it off. It is now a little shiny on the stock where it laid for a few minutes. So... while the solvent won't hurt metal, it doesn't do your synthetic stock any good. Just sayin'.

·
Registered
117 Posts
There are a handful of cleaners on the market that match or best Hoppes #9, without the smell / toxicity.