Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have hunted my whole life and I am very interested in hunting next year with a muzzle-loader.

I have NO experience with muzzle-loaders, and I am looking for club to help me out in my area, but I have a couple of questions I thought I would ask here.

- In Oregon I have to use a traditional muzzle-loader. I am looking at buying a T/C Hawken or a Lyman. Which one would you pick and why?

- If not T/C or Lyman what would you recommend?

- Would you choose a 50 or 54 if you were going to hunt bear, deer, and elk?

- What books or DVDs are out there that would help me starting out if I can not find help locally?

I guess that is enough for now:)

Paul

·
Banned
126 Posts
T/C have always made good rifles as have Lyman. Between the two, I would choose the Lyman. What type of hunting do you plan on? What are some of the average distances you plan on shooting? For deer and larger game, a .50 caliber is about the minimum. Do you want percussion or flintlock?

If money is not so much a problem, you can find many well made rifles like at Track of the Wolf. Are you adept at working with wood? You can build your own.

·
Banned
126 Posts
It is early in the morning and I did not fully absorb your post. If I were hunting game as large as bear, I would go for a .58. An elk running 200 yards after you shoot it is one thing, a bear running 200 is another, especially if it is in your direction!

I will look for some starter (beginners) material and get back.

·
Registered
337 Posts