Shooters Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I've started to accumulate quite a bit of these strips of almost pure lead from separating them from wheel weight buckets. I've been searching unsuccessfully on a recipe to increase there hardness. Any old topics or easy recipes? I remember reading about adding tin which is bought at home depot in a form of solder? I'm guessing that I have roughly about 30 lbs of it nicely dressed in all of its yucky stickiness. I have been mostly using just ww and occasionally water quenching for a gas check rifle (458 socom). I have no experience with tin or even what it looks like at a store. Thanks.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Alloying lead with tin

Bird--an easy way to obtain a lead-tin alloy is to buy 50-50 bar solder and add it your molten lead. The bars I have are two pounds so a half bar added to 10 lbs pure lead will give you a 20:1 or 5% lead-tin alloy. The solder bars are easily cut with a "limb-lopper" that are commonly used for pruning trees. This 20:1 alloy is what most single shot shooters use--either in Schuetzen shooting or BPCR, although 30:1 and 40:1 are common too. However, these shooting disciplines require plain-based bullets (non-gas check). You will need a harder alloy for gas-check bullets which means adding antimony to the mix. Best way is to obtain some linotype and add it to your W-W. A 50-50 mix is pretty hard, and can possibly be hardened more by heat-treating or quenching.

·
Super Moderator
13,448 Posts