Shooters Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I'm looking at one of these and they have sparked an intrest. Wanting to replace a 25-06 that I traded off and looking at one of these or a savage maybe? Any one care to speak on behalf the sub-moa? I have no experience with them at all.

·
Registered
1,892 Posts
They are supposed to be selected actions that when test fired were more accurate than average. I have never owned a Sub-MOA Vanguard but have owned a few standard Vanguards in the last 20+ years-all have been sub moa tack drivers.

·
Registered
274 Posts
I just bought a regular vanguard for only 350 new. I havent done any reloads or serious accuracy testing yet but got under an 1.25 with factory core locks. Not sure I would spend alot of extra money on a sub moa when you can probably get sub moa out of good handloads or close to it. FYI, the vanguard triggers (at least in my case) are crap, I had to dump another 100 for a timney.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Would you choose a vanguard over a new savage? What I'm looking for is a 600 yard coyote rifle. Also not stuck on the 25-06. Been thinking of maybe .243 or maybe a .260

·
Registered
288 Posts
Wouldnt be doing wrong with either. In the end, probably the weatherby gets my vote. Owned a few and all have shot and functioned very well.

·
Registered
3,287 Posts
I've had a Savage 243 for the last 8 years and it is a tack driver. It doesn't even have the Accutrigger but will shoot lights out. I haven't shot a Sub-MOA but from all of the articles i've read in magazines like Shooting Times, Rifle Shooter, Guns and Ammo and so on, the rifles are averaging about 3/4 inch groups. One of the test rifles shot several groups 1/2 inch and under chambered in .308. I think either rifle would be a good choice and with the new Accustock the Savage should really shoot.

·
Registered
574 Posts