Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I wanted to ask around if anyone has been reloading with this powder. I have an old Ruger 7mm. magnum (1976) and have never had much sucess reloading for it having never shot a group yet under an inch and 1/2 until I broke down and finally bought a box of Hornady Superperformance with the 139g. Gmx. All of my factory ammo was about as old as the gun and I knew they had made a lot of improvements in ammo since then so I decided to dust old "Knock 'em stiff" off and try again and was amazed when I started shooting 1" groups. I had always loaded this gun with 169 grain boattails because thats what all the "pros" were using. But I finally checked the twist in this gun and found out it was 1 in 12" which is slow and it probably wasn't stabilizing the longer bullets as well as the shorter bullets.
So I bought one pound of this powder but could not find any reloading data for this load in any reference books. I even called Hogdons and they would not tell me. So I had a pound of worthless powder! I seached and searched on the internet and could not find any data. If you don't believe me I would like to know where? Anyway what I did was I pulled the GMX bullet out and weighed the load on my electronic scale and found out it was 73.5 grains. Now what I would like to know is this a good idea if I started with say 70 grains and see what happens? I know they are others like me because I read about a fellow that was having the same problems with I believe a .223? they only release info on certain calibers. I figure I can do the same thing with my .223 and buy a box of .223 superperformance and weigh it out and try it in my ar-15. Am I barking up a tree? Please give me some feed back before I load these up.
Bullthrower

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,121 Posts