Shooters Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm considering some surplus pistol powder wc820(h110) for $55 per 8 pound keg and a chronograph for testing purposes.anyone have any experience with surplus powder?

·
Registered
342 Posts
I have no personal experience, but some of the knowledgeable guys over at Shooters.com Talk say that WC820 is closer to AA#9 than H110.

·
Beartooth Regular
1,177 Posts
Right you are Ima.

Use AA9 load data as WC 820 runs faster than H110/296.

In the 44Mag with a BTB 280 WFN, I've found it about 2 to 2.5 grs faster than H110/296 by velocity readings. Meaning, WC820 will do about the same velocities with 2 to 2.5 grs. less powder.

WC 820 tends to have a steeper pressure curve also as bullet weight increases past 280 grs. or so. There H110/296 is better suited with the heavyweights.

WC 820 is an extremely clean burning fine grained powder at an excellent price. It's also easily ignited with a standard primer like the Federals in my experience and doesn't seem to be afflicted with the lower load density problems that can occur with H110/296.

You'll be glad you bought some.

Have Fun

·
"Bad Joke Friday" Dan (moderator emeritus)
7,762 Posts
1badmagnum,

Last year, based on Contender's experience and assistance, I bought my first surplus powder, 8lbs. of pulled WC820 and can confirm what Contender indicated above, great stuff. I tested (velocity and accuracy) the WC820 with H110 and W296 and got my most accurate results with the WC820...and as Contender indicated, better velocity with less powder. My Ruger SuperBlackhawk with 265gr. SWC GC matched H110 velocity with 1.0 less powder. As you know, each batch can vary, so be careful where you start your powder amounts.

Dan

·
Banned
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks guys