Shooters Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
319 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone here experience with swaging an existing bullet to a smaller diameter? I emailed Hawk Bullets to see if they would make a 195 gr .284 pointed bullet and what the price might be, but they never answered.

I decided, therefore, it might as economical to buy a Corbin swaging tool and make them myself. I have not as yet priced what I might need, as I am just getting started.

Corbin has advertised precision jackets that could be used to make what I want, but it occurred to me that it might save a step to simply use a 195 or 200 grain .308 bullet to swage it to a .284 Semi-Spitzer.

Ideally, it would be a bonded core bullet, but the 195 gr Barnes bullets I have used are not bonded, and work great.

Any thoughts?

·
Registered
943 Posts
I'll stick my neck out and make a reply. I know its not hard to make larger cast lead bullets into smaller ones, but I think it would be imposible to make a larger jacjeted bullet into a smaller one and use the exhisting jacket.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,752 Posts
I read an article on this many years ago. I think it was in one of the Dean Grennell books on reloading but not sure which one. Anyway, he needed to swage bullets for something unusual and/or uncommon at the time. Maybe .41 cal to .40, or perhaps the reverse. Something along those lines.

Anyway, the one observation that stuck with me all these years was, after getting the bullets down to the appropriate diameter, he had to do one final "bump up" or the cores were loose in the jackets.

Other than that, I don't recall any other details. Maybe it will jog someone else's memory. Hope that helps, and good luck with your project.

·
Registered
319 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)