Shooters Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi gentleman,
I just signed up on this forum and looks to be alot of great information. I am new to pistol shooting,but have hunted with a long gun for many years. Am very anxious to purchase my first pistol. Im looking to purchase a G2 contenderW/12 inch barrel. Im leaning towards Bullberry to get both the frame and the barrel.I do not reload though I have a feeling that I will like to in the near future.As for the barrels to get I talked to Troy at bullberry and he mentioned for starting out and not being a current reloader that the 22 Hornet might be a good fit. I will be hunting small game like squirrel and rabbit, only head shots. The other 50% of the time will just be general target shooting. The other barrel I would like to try would be for deer hunting.Have not decided on this one yet.Would still like to target shoot also with this.Some reasonably priced cartridge out there? Also pretty sure there are no regulations on rifle cartridges in Wisc.Perhaps 30-30 Win or 375 Win?
Would there be any other things I need to know about the G2? I heard that the over size hinge pins should be used? Muzzle brake for the larger caliber?Thanks guys in advance for any info you could share with a newbie. Steve

·
Banned
1,398 Posts
The 22 Hornet in Contenders was one of the original chamberings when first offered for sale. They are a hoot to shoot but hang on too the wallet if you don't reload. Noticed most boxes of fifty are approaching $40. I use 44 Magnum on deer size game in addition to the 30 Herritt. Recently acquired a 7.62x39 pistol barrel which would be ballistically similar to the 30 Herritt.

My beliefs on the oversized hinge pins is there a waste of money. You keep paying for them with every new barrel bought needing modification. When you want to sell one modified who will buy it? The only one making out on this improvement is the individual doing the work for payment.

·