Votes: 2 66.7%
  • .264 Win Mag

Votes: 1 33.3%
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been kicking around the idea of a 6.5 Gibbs for a while now, keep coming back to "should probably just do a Win Mag if you do a hot 6.5/.264"...anybody shoot both? I'd probably do it on a hunting rifle, bolt action and 24" barrel. I like Mausers, but leaning toward a Savage for this one.

Thanks.

·
Banned
531 Posts
I have no experience with either caliber, but, I do, with a Savage and suggest you buy with caution. Even with all the positive reviews I read about Savage Arms bolt guns, before I bought one of their entry level Hog Hunters,... I dumped it within a year.

But, to be fair about it, it was an entry level rifle.

Mauser actions I have had,... and, Mauser actions I can give a thumb up to! 👍

·
Registered
4,853 Posts
As a real advocate of just about anything 6.5 and having previously owned just about every one you can imagine the 6.5 prc would be less heartache in the long term, accuracy + speed, what's there not to like?

·
Registered
677 Posts
isn't the Gibbs just a 6.5-06? (I've honestly never seen one and my google search isn't giving me much).

I'm a big 264 fan, I've loved the caliber since before the 260 Rem was made "honest", I've wanted a 264WM since I was a kid, but in all honesty the 260 Rem covers all I really need, and I have the Grendel to cover the lighter work.

I'm in the same boat as Kevinbear, I'm stuck between the PRC and the 264WM, but I agree the PRC would be a good alternate choice, without the belt you'll have less issues with reloading. I'm probably going to just stick with the 260REM and run it as hot as I'm safely able.

but like it was said, I wont stand in the way of someone's unique project. Good luck with it.

·
Registered
677 Posts
alaska682 I found this from a google search. 270 on the left, 6.5 Gibbs on the right.
Thanks, so its just a blown out 6.5-06 case... with the shoulder pushed way the heck out there.