Shooters Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Beartooth Regular
2,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I had an exciting morning - I taught my first Hunter's Education class! I signed up over the summer to be a volunteer instructor with IDFG. There were students from about 10 years old and up, boys and girls, and even two adult women! Glad to see the ladies and children involved in our sport!

I taught map/compass skills, and conducted a "walkabout", where each student carries a firearm and we practice moving through the woods, up and down hills, and crossing fences safely. There is an IDFG full-time instructor and two volunteers for each class.

It was very enjoyable and gratifying, and I'm looking forward to more involvement. It was cool!:cool:

·
Registered
517 Posts
What better way to spend some time, instruction and promotion! Way to go.

What is that phrase, "Pay it forward"? Nice way to do so.

·
Super Moderator
3,365 Posts
Welcome Aboard!

I've been an IDFG instructor for about five years now, really enjoy it, although it can be very time consuming doing all the necessary paperwork, especially if you have a large class. In our area we split up the load of the class, and have "specialties" in the subject area that we teach. It's great fun and rewarding to see new recruits into the ranks of Idaho hunters!

Glad to hear that you're taking the time to volunteer! Great job!

God Bless,

Marshall

·
Registered
1,168 Posts
I assisted the IDFG Instructror with my duaghters class this summer. All young kids-church youth group-royal rangers! Lots of fun!:D The boy's didn't appreciate my duaghter out shooting them at the range though!:D They complianed to me -I told them they need to practice more!! My daughter has been shooting since she was about 8 or so! She's been in the field with with me since she was 5- she would hunt doves with me- not shooting, but she have fun bringing the doves back. :D

·
Beartooth Regular
7,768 Posts
Hi, ID: