Shooters Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased this rifle and zeroed the iron sights over the weekend. I plan on making several accessory upgraded as time goes by. A 600m scope, a fore grip with internal bipod, case, perhaps a laser, I may also get a 300 BLK kit when they become available. I am relatively new to the mechanics of shooting. I grew up around guns and hunting & I did 4 years in the army but I never really understood or investigated things like barrel twist and bullet grain. Now that I've spent 2G on a rifle however I find myself wanting to know all I can in order to utilize my investment to it's highest potential.
One of my first questions is this; when I took it out and zero the iron sights I used cheap 55 grain .223 ammo. Now that I am doing some research I find that for my tavor with it's 1-7 barrel twist, a 77 grain 5.56 is the optimum ammo. I zeroed at a 25m indoor range. Am I going to be off when I shoot 77 grain at greater distances? Am I going to have to re-zero the rifle?
My first and most important purchase for this rifle will be the scope. I ain't to proud to admit that I know nothing what-so-ever about scopes and what specifications to scrutinize when making a scope choice. Any advice in this area is welcome.

·
Registered
3,765 Posts
Bullpup rifles are a little funny with optics. But I like everything vortex makes as far as magnified rifle scopes. A strike eagle is a nice 1-6 power scope that will give you fair accuracy out to about 300 yards or so. The Tavor isn't really supposed to be a long range platform. It shines in the CQB role, hence being a Bulpup design.