Shooters Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to reloading long range .308 and .338 Lapua.

I had a tough time extracting shells after firing and found it was because of lube on the reloaded cartridges. After cleaning cartridges and chamber, shells extracted easily.

Being a curious engineer type, does anyone have a technical explanation as to why/how lube causes a shell to be difficult to extract?

Thanks.

·
Banned
90 Posts
I found this somewhere, kinda makes sense but the experienced guys here can probably explain it better:

NHgunNut
make sure the cases are dry and clean on outside with no lube when you shoot them. A lubed case wont "stick" to the chamber walls like it is designed to and it therefore acts like a 50,000 PSI wedge pushing against your boltface, temporarily stretching your action, and when your action and chamber contract back to normal size, is pushing on the case. I can envision whats happening, and ive seen where making sure your loads are clean of lube and dry is key, i guess anything that will cause a dimension shift will cause an ejection problem. I dont reload, but, prior to shooting/hunting i make sure my chamber is completely free of any oil, cleansers or debris, i think its possibly along the same lines, if you continue to have problems, what i would try is some factory ammo, if it fires and ejects like it should, take a loadrd factory round and mic out the dimensions and compare them to yours. Also, you said for long range, are you loading the ammo hot? Meaning loading more powder? I dont know the technical term, i have a .30/06 that i get loaded "hot" because it can handle it, but my other '06 doesnt like those at all and i have problems, hope this helps and may give you an idea of what might be happening.

·
Registered
11,928 Posts
Ricochet, Hospes only change was no lube which cured the sticky extraction.