Shooters Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening,
My name is Neil, and I am an NRA Certified Pistol Instructor, RSO, with certifications to teach In Home/Out of Home Protection.
I have been training students for the better part of this year, so I am fairly new to the party. While I train privately from my home, I also teach weekly with the chief instructor at my local shooting range.
I have a student who I taught a Basic Pistol course to (with her husband), and also tonight as a private class at the range - all shooting. We revisited foundation and fundamentals through discussion and demonstration prior to beginning shooting.
This student is very shaky. She continually tells me about how nervous she is, and her hands are visibly shaking, thus resulting in inconsistent shot placement.
I had her try some breathing exercises tonight, continually reassured her that she was doing fine, and that there is no pressure to be a sniper after only two trips to the range. Her stance, grip, and aiming look to be in order, aside from her nerves making her hands shake.
We are shooting 22LR semi-auto's at 15ft., and have tried a couple of guns, making sure she had a proper and comfortable grip and could reach and manipulate all the controls, etc. As well. I have her shooting at blank white paper, having her focus on shooting straight instead of focusing on specific areas of a target.

I am looking for different suggestions on how to help calm her and minimize her shakes. My chief instructor told me to take the target down and have her shoot a mag at the back wall, then joke with her that this is as bad as it will ever get. When she shoots at the next target, in theory she should feel more confident.

I'm looking forward to reading your suggestions, and I thank you for your assistance.

Kind regards,

Neil

·
Registered
89 Posts