Shooters Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm new to the ML rifle part of this sport and am trying to find a peep sight for my newly acquired Traditions Hawken Woodsman. Since the only sights I can find in stock are Pedersoli I was wondering if anyone has used this manufactures peep sight system on a Traditions Hawkens rifle. Are there any considerations other than possibly drilling, tapping & mounting? Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

·
Registered
3,743 Posts
If you’re suggesting putting a vernier type sight on your muzzle loader, you’ll find it to be a bit of a challenge. They are all made to be mounted onto existing holes in a metal tang on the stock grip area. I have seen some mounted onto the wood, but drilling into the wrist on a stock isn’t always a good idea. The single biggest problem with these types of sights (once mounted) is getting the stem as close to perpendicular as possible. Any error side to side will move the POI side to side. A good tang/vernier sight will start at around one-fifty for a simple Marbles stem type to upwards of five-seven hundred for a precision brand. Pedersoli doesn’t fit into that category. You won’t find them on rifles that have high accuracy expectations. (This is an entire subject matter unto itself). I’d suggest going to someplace like Brownnell’s and taking a look. They have knowledgeable staff who can make some good suggestions on some type of peep sight that might fit onto your gun. I think a tang mounted Marbles peep might work for your gun, but again you’ll have to drill holes in the stock wrist.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·