Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
5,010 Posts
BS, he creates a false premise then attacks it, anyone with even the slightest amount of shooting experience knows that a "trigger jerk" is one small part of what I would call a whole body "tune out" of a coming event, recoil, concussion, and noise. Depending on the severity it's clenching hands, closing eyes and whole body jerks. Let me tell you friends if there's one thing I'm an expert about it's trigger jerks, I've experienced every level at one time or another in competition. 35yrs of rifle silhouette competition at state and national level will create enough anxiety in anyone except a very few to make them jerk a trigger on occasion. Getting your brain to calm down and overpower your body when the pressure level is at 10 is no small feat. Same goes for mentally controlling yourself when faced with the coming recoil from a hard kicking rifle or handgun.
Best way to combat it is dry firing, second best is shooting an airgun.

·
The Shadow (Moderator)
9,363 Posts

·
Premium Member
16,232 Posts
Putters have 'the yips'. Shooters have jerks, flinches, contractions, squinches and defects caused by anticipation of something likely to hurt. Both are perfectly natural to the sports and sorts out the riff raff in intense competition.
Reward and punishment works as training aids every time: Playing 'kick the can' with big revolvers is great fun, but to make it better, load your competitor's gun for him and he load yours. We played for nickels or quarters and four shots each.
#1 Throws the can out front and #2 gets first shot. If the can moves, #2 wins a coin.
#1 shoots. If the can moves, he gets a coin. A flinch on an empty chamber cost two coins.
The object is to knock the can out of range or out of sight. Winner gets the remaining coins.

·
Registered
3,830 Posts