Shooters Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I am new to his forum.

I am wondering about the feasibility of turning a newer rifle like a Ruger M77 (Hawkeye, GSR, etc.) into a Kar98 or Yugo M48 lookalike.

I really love the look and feel of old Mausers, but 8mm is drying up and I am not a reloader. Additionally, I am not so interested in the collector value of the Mausers (I just like them) and as such I would really like something that wasn't beat up and would prefer to have a new production gun with a factory new bore that I can shoot accurately a lot. So one thing I could do is just buy a modern Mauser-like rifle like a Ruger Hawkeye or something, but I am really not a fan of sporter stocks. I really like the full length military stocks of the old Mausers, with the top hand guard and everything. I have seen full length Mannlicher stocks you can get for more modern guns but they don't look anything like military stocks.

So, I am wondering:

- Is it possible to fit an old Mauser stock for K98 or Yugo onto a modern rifle like a Ruger M77 type gun (I doubt it but I might as well ask)?

- How much effort and/or money would it cost to have a stock made like an older Mauser stock for a new gun?

- Are there any stocks out there like this, that look like a military style stock from the old days that can be fitted on newer guns?

All responses are greatly appreciated. Thank you!

·
Super Moderator
8,652 Posts
You could of course have a crack at making one yourself and get even greater satisfaction.

May be possible but would probably mean some fettling and filling

Sure someone will be along to give advise.

·
Registered
6,881 Posts