Shooters Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, good to be connecting with a group of like minded people.
I have been reloading for many years. I also had done some bullet casting with an RCBS lubrisizer, but not for quite a while.
Yesterday, I picked up a like new Lyman 4500 with several dies and top punches, and bought a new RCBS .401" die and t.p. I had been told the RCBS dies would work fine, and the die fit with no problems. BUT, I am unable to get the bullets I had recently cast for use in a 40 S&W and 10mm auto, 180 gr. RN with a single lube groove, deep enough to get lube into the groove. I finally started putting a bullet on top of the one I wanted to lube, and pulled the handle down, and then the bullet got properly lubed.
There is only one ring of lube holes in the die, which, as I stated, was an RCBS, but the other dies I got with the 4500 were Lyman with 2 rings of lube holes in the dies. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
110 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes, I got the manual and I have adjusted the threaded sleeve to change the depth the bullet is inserted into the die, but nothing helps. The bullet does not go deep enough into the die for the single set of lubing holes to fill the lube groove in the bullet. That's why I have used another bullet placed on top of the one I am lubing when I push it into the die, and then iut works. So, it seems that the lubing holes in the die are not enough to lube all bullets designed for that caliber. But, thanks for your reasonable suggestions.

·
Elk Whisperer (Super Moderator)
10,805 Posts
I'm trying to figure out what's going on why so I go down and run a couple bullets through my #45 and I still can't "see" what yours is or isn't doing.

The only thing I can come up with, the top punch isn't long enough if you have the depth set.

That's all I got.

Yes, I know it's filthy.

RJ

·
Registered
110 Posts