Shooters Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I just bought my first muzzle-loading rifle a Pedersoli Hawken Traditional Hunter with a 50 cal 1:24 inch twist 28 inch barrel. I bought it to use heavy projectiles like 320gr REALs and 500gr target long bullets. I'm just learning how to use the rifle, but already I'm very happy with its performance.

However, I have a bit of a problem with it when it comes to cleaning. I know there are many people who are of the opinion that there is no need to remove the barrel of a sidelock muzzleloader for cleaning, but I prefer to remove it.

The problem however is that the fitting between the barrel and the stock is extremely tight. The first time I tried it took me over an hour to remove the barrel. After removing the wedge and the rear sight I could swear there must be another screw somewhere as the barrel wouldn't move in the slightest even when quite a bit of force was applied.

Then I found a webpage which recommended "If the clearances are tight, you might have to tap the bottom of the barrel on a surface to loosen it". Eventually I had to bang the barrel on a flat (soft wood) surface while holding the rifle upside down and while paying attention not to bang with the part of the barrel that has the front sight, not to damage the lock etc. I've used much more force in this process than I'm normally comfortable with when dealing with my guns. Also when the barrel became a bit loose I tried to lift it off the stock by pulling the front of the barrel up while the breech end was still int he stock. This caused two small chips on top of surface of the stock to fall off(right at breech end). This damage is what it took for me to learn to always remove the barrel while holding it perfectly parallel with the stock. The barrel has to be basically lifted up at both ends at the same rate. If the front is lifted higher further damage to the stock might happen.