Shooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I am considering puchasing a 8# jug of this powder from Bartlet Suplus. His info says to use it with H110 data.

I want to use this powder with the BTB .358, 185 gr. in the 357 mag. I also would like to use it with 270 gr. Keiths and the BTB 300 gr. 45 Colt bullets.

The 357 will be for both revolver and Win. Trapper. The 45 Colt will be for a Win. Trapper only.

Does anyone have real data for this powder with these bullets?

Thanks,
Jeff

·
Registered
342 Posts
I have no personal experience, but some of the knowledgeable guys over at Shooters.com Talk say that WC820 is closer to AA#9 than H110. Go over to the cast bullet forum and do a search... you may be glad you did.

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
I am working my way through the second jug of this powder. I have found it to be a good buy for the money. I hesitate to give my loads because they say this powder varies by lot. I have not experienced this. I would recommend reducing the loads from max by 5-10% and working up from there.

I shoot around 13.5 gr for 180 gr FNGC in the 357 mag. and around 19 - 20 gr in the 45 colt for a 325gr FNGC. I use about 23 -24 gr in a 454 Cassull. These are not near the max for these cartridges but they are accurate loads. They also fill the cases so there isn't a problem with low volume loads with slow burning powders.

Enjoy, just use discretion.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,228 Posts
Bigfoot, what are the velocities with those loads (and the barrel lengths)? Those do sound pretty light as compared to H110/WW296, so it sure sounds to me like the stuff is somewhat faster than advertised.

·
Beartooth Regular
1,184 Posts
WC 820 I have found with my own testing in the 44 Mag runs close to 2 to 2.5 grains faster than H110/296 with a 280 gr bullet in my testing. DO NOT use H110/296 data off the cuff so to speak. Use AA9 data to start.