Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie....A real newbie and I have some questions.

I'm considering buying a revolver and have looked at the Ruger Vaquero in .44Mag. In their catalog it says that it is a "color cased finish".  I know it refers to the finish on the frame, but why do they, as well as other manufacturers, finish the frame this way?

Ruger only offers a "blued" frame in the .45.

Colt will customize their "P" model in blued frame if you want, but they don't have a .44 at all.  Only a .44-40.

I noticed a lot of questions on revolvers using .44Mag but not so many on .45.  What is so special about the .44 over .45?

I haven't read every post, but I haven't seen any that talked about the Colt "P" models or the "Cowboy" model.  Is there something wrong with these?  I know the "P" models are quite expensive.  At least I thought so when I called the Customer Service and asked them what the MSRP was.

Question 4.  What is slugging a barrel?

The reason for these questions is that I've been looking at some of the CAS sites and it sounds kinda' fun.  In the back of my mind I'm also thinking of a rifle (Marlin '94 Cowboy) in the same caliber of any revolver I may buy.

Thanks in advance.

Two-Bits

·
Beartooth Regular
7,776 Posts
Hi, Two-Bits:
   Color case hardening is a very old method of heat treating steel. It hardens the surface for wear resistance but leaves the interior softer and less brittle.  This gives the steel a mottled blue & brown color. Modern alloys are hard but not brittle, so the treatment isn't needed.  A color case finish looks like hardening, but is just a finish, I think???

I'm not up to speed on the Colt Model P.

.44 vs. .45 is a Chev vs. Ford argument.  There's a very long thread on this that started about this time last year.