Shooters Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to the sport and am wondering what supplies I will go through on the regular and what I need to keep stocked. What supplies do you go through quickly and regularly as a shooter?

I realize ammo and targets top the list, but what other items may I want or need on a regular basis?
Thanks in advance for your help.

-Justin

·
Super Moderator
8,652 Posts
Justin, Way back in history when I started deer stalking/ hunting here in the UK I carried a rucksack full of everything imaginable. Today I have my rifle, half a dozen rounds of ammo, binos, a sharp knife, about a yard of thin rope/cord strong enough to tow the carcase and my stalking stick. If the weather looks a bit 'muggy' therefore 'buggy' I will have a tube of midge cream. It does all boil down to the circumstances in which you will be hunting. Target shooting, well if you get serious at it then you will want to load your own, then the list gets much longer. My advice initially is to keep it simple, no 'must haves' , gizmos etc etc. until you are certain that is the route you want to take. Saves you a lot of money.

·
Registered
2,393 Posts
All "newbies" like we all were, tend to load themselves down with non essentials. "I might need this or I might need that".
Gradually, we pare the load down to things we really need.
A topo map of the area, a compass, waterproof matches and the stuff Sus mentioned.
Jim

·
Registered
4,045 Posts
Which specific sport?

Shooting clay, hunting, targets with rifle/pistol, sass, bullseye, steel challenge, etc., etc. A HUGE ROLL OF BENJAMINS is a good start. Seriously, in the long run, buy quality once and only once, rather than the cheap stuff over and over. K.I.S.S. and lot's of patience. Hang around a group of real good shooters at the range, see what/how they do things & what they use, and remember you have 2 ears and 1 mouth for a reason. Good luck.

·
Banned
4,925 Posts