Shooters Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got a new EMF/Pietta GWII 45 Colt,the Gunfighter with a 4 /3/4 inch barrel.

The Barrel is slugs about .451

The cylinder throats .450
I am Planning on using a 225 Grain Lead Semi Wadcutter at about 6-7 Brinell Hardness and with about 9 grains of unique for a velocity of 950-1000 FPS.

I had originally thought about using .452 Bullets but dont know if the bullets shot through the .450 throats will bump up slightly in the bore for good accuracy.

Would you use the .452 bullets ,or buy .453 bullets or .454 bullets ?

Or would you open up the throats of the .450 throats to .453 and use the .454 inch bullets ?

I have some experience in opening up cylinder throats Using Veral Smiths Method of Slitting a piece of cold rolled steel and putting emery paper in the slit and spinning it in a drill until the bullet of choice would just push through the throat with light finger pressure.

Years and Years ago I did that to a Ruger Blackhawk Stainless 44 Magnum along with firelapping the Constriction from the barrel where the Barrel screws into the frame,Using Water Dropped wheel weights that I dropped from a LBT 280 Gr WFN Plain Base Mold.cut for my barrel. I set this up for Deer hunting
On a good day I could get 3 inch or less 3 shot groups at 50 yards shooting over the hood of my truck.

Now I have Killed enough deer so don't deer hunt anymore so I have no need for that Kind of accuracy and Instead or water dropped wheel weights (which by the way I found that by and Large they did not Kill nearly as well as an expanding bullet on deer )and now will be using a soft cast bullet.

Now I will be shooting at 25 yards and less and If can get 3 inch accuracy or so at 20 yards I would be fine with that.

What do you think ,Will The gun be capable of that with the Mismatched cylinder throats and .452 inch bullets as is or do I need to order bigger bullets and open up the cylinder throats ?

·