Shooters Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, all.  I'm new to the post and pretty much a novice when it comes to weapons and ammunition too.  While I was posting to another forum, one of your users, JackStrange, recommended I stop by here to learn a little more.  Just reading a few of the other topics has been really helpful so far.

I came in to see if you could help me with a specific question.  In a few weeks, I'll be doing some serious hiking in the backcountry of two parks in Alaska and I'll be carrying an S&W model 629 .44 Magnum for protection.  But I have little knowledge about how I should load it.  I have a box of Remington FMJ hollowpoints (275 grain), but I have no clue what the signifigance of that last statement is.  Anyway, do you have any suggestions for me?  I'm hoping I won't have to fire my weapon at all, but I want to be able to stop any bear or moose that thinks I look tasty.  (I know moose don't eat people, but they're big and can step on me, which is almost as bad.)
Thanks for taking the time to consider and reply!

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,312 Posts
Hi New Guy,

Best thing that I can think of is the Federal "Cast Core" hunting loads.  In .44 I believe it is a 300 gr. LBT-design bullet, very blunt.  It'll be all you want to shoot in the Smith, I'd wager.

Next choice would be one of the Cor-Bon solids, ie. their "Penetrator" load.

Stay away from hollowpoints for bear/moose repellant.  The Win/Nosler Partition Gold handgun bullet might be an exception to the avoid-hollowpoints rule, if you can't find anything else.

Not sure what a FMJ-HP is?????  Must be a new load.

Good luck and enjoy your trip.

·
Registered
240 Posts
Welcome to the site newsboy. You came to right place for answers, or at least, strongly held opinions. You will find a lot more useful information on a wide range of topics and a lot less self-promotion than on that "other" site.