Shooters Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All!

I am a newbie here and I hope to learn a lot from all you knowledgeable folks. I am an active member of RFC and other forums and I know I will enjoy participating in the discussions and topics about my favorite subject...Rifles!

I already have a question about the rifle mentioned above. I just came into posession of a 1986 Winchester Model 70 Carbine chambered in .223 Remington. After many hours of looking, I can't seem to find any information about this rifle on line. I would like to know what the rate of twist might be on the factory stock barrel. I need to know so that I can choose ammunition with bullet weights that are appropriate for the rate of twist. This gun was only made for a couple of years and there is little or no information available about it. How about you folks? Does anyone know the answer to this riddle?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards,

Kixonrt66

·
Beartooth Regular
7,777 Posts
You can figure it yourself if you've got a cleaning rod with a free spinning handle. I prefer putting a piece of tape on the rod as a flag. Take a piece about 2" long, press the middle against the rod and bring the ends together so they stick out. Put a snug patch on the rod, start the rod into the barrel, note the position of the flag, and measure how far out of the barrel the flag is. Push the rod into the barrel until the flag makes a complete turn, measure again and do the math. Done.

Bye
Jack

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,071 Posts
Welcome to the forum. If you have a cleaning rod you can measure the rate of twist. Just put a tight-fitting patch on a brush or jag, make an index mark on the rod, and measure how far it goes into or out of the gun when making one full revolution.

Edit: Jack types faster than me!!!!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Twist rate

Hello all,