Shooters Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
680 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to using a lube/sizer, have always used the Lee liquid. I now have a Lyman lube/sizer and heater. What is your favorite hard lube to use in this kind of setup for handgun bullets and why? I have some RCBS lube in it now. It seems to still be rather tacky after it cools, unlike commercial cast bullets that I have used in the past. Thanks, Ted

·
Registered
103 Posts
TedH
You don't need heat fer the RCBS lube only the hard lubes. I like Lyman's Orange Magic or LBT Blue cause they work fer me in either rifle or pistol real well !!

·
Registered
680 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I thought that the RCBS was a hard lube. Guess that explains the stickyness.

·
Super Moderator
9,489 Posts
The hard lubes you ae use to on commercal cast bullets (at least most of them) has to be heated to flow...they do make lube-sizer heaters, but you can get by with a hair drier.

But you have to ask "why?". The hard lubes are good for bulk packing bullets for commercial sale...no advantage if you actually set your home cast bullets in rows and then cover them.

Many times with hanguns have recovered fired bullets that were lubed with hard lube. They still had lube in the grooves. Now we can debate exactly how lube works, but one thing for sure is that if it is still on the bullet when it exits, it doesn't do much of anything.

Personally, I have no need for rock hard lubes as I don't just jumble 500 bullets in a box and ship it across country...all I ask is that the lube keeps leading down, promotes accuracy, and doesn't melt into my powder charge and kill the round...lots of lubes can do this, and they don't have to be all that hard.

·
Registered
3,124 Posts